Bye bye PE!

Yesterday marked the last day in Port Elizabeth for me. What a strange feeling to pack up everything that’s been your life for almost half a year and say goodbye to the people you’ve grown so used to always have around. To say that I’m grateful for the last couple of months would be an understatement. I think I always will look back to this time and remember it as one of the best experiences in my life.

Ever since I was a kid I’ve dreamt about studying abroad, and for a long time it was U.S that was the goal. But I think I realised that I wanted to go to a place that is something entirely else than Europe and the Western world. South Africa not only have an amazing history but it is one of the most beautiful countries I’ve ever been to. And yes, a lot of things here are different but my time here also further strengthen how in the end we all just are ordinary human beings, who happens to live in different places in the world.

But back to Port Elizabeth. It’s weird to after all this time finally feel like it actually grew to be my second home. In the beginning I can’t say I was that in love with the city. It wasn’t bad or anything, it was just very small and not super much going on. But like every city that you get to know deeper you start to discover the hidden treasures and appreciate the small things. Like the few but very good coffee places. For example my favourites Urban Express in Walmer and Vovo Telo at Stanley Street.

Port Elizabeth have given me so many good things to remember but the most valuable thing will always be the incredible people I’ve got to know. Really, it is a strange situation when you in the start of a semester gather a bunch of international students from all around the world (well, U.S and Germany at least) and suddenly these people are supposed to live and hang out together for half a year. They might have nothing in common but everyone have to make a new life in this new environment. The really cool thing is that you will form a bond to some people that might last for a lifetime.

It was quite surrealistic to say goodbye to everyone yesterday. Some I might see again but some will only be present through Facebook, What’s App and other parts of social media. I know all students always say that they’re gonna stay in touch but I do hope I will actually manage to do that with some of the great people I’ve met here.

Now I’m gonna explore Cape Town before Sweden waits for me. Wow, what a weird feeling to be back in less than two weeks. The fact that it is summer in Sweden is at least something to be happy about. It’s all about the small things in life.

Lämna en kommentar